Relive the heady days of crypto with the ‘Crypto Rush’ documentary • TechCrunch


When Liliana Pertenava determined to go all-in on crypto by investing $2,000 in a mining rig in 2017, she went to this point down the crypto rabbit-hole she determined to make a documentary about it. In the event you’re locked-down and searching for one thing to look at, you would do worse than sit down and watch “Crypto Rush,” which simply went dwell on Vimeo right now (8AM PT / 11AM ET / 4PM BST / 5PM CEST), and is accessible free for the primary 100 TechCrunch readers to grab one of these codes.

Protecting blockchain expertise, its purposes and the tradition that surrounds it, Pertenava’s 90-minute documentary led her to satisfy such characters as a tribe of iconoclasts residing in a small cabin within the Swiss Alps, utilizing low-cost, hydroelectric power to mine cryptocurrency whereas residing like monks. She additionally meets crypto-miner David Carlson in Seattle, Wash., who constructed the world’s largest crypto-farm, solely to later go bankrupt.

It’s additionally more likely to immediate emotions of nostalgia, not only for the heady days of crypto but in addition the truth that individuals are truly hanging out with one another (OMG).

To that time, stymied by COVID-19, Pertenava has determined to undergo Vimeo to launch the film, so that individuals can watch it at dwelling. “Additionally, because it’s a street film, I hope to feed everybody’s wanderlust whereas the world is on lockdown,” she says.

A former broadcaster in Russia, Pertenava was intrigued by the decentralized nature of blockchain tech. “I felt a bit like Alice in Wonderland, exploring this unusual world and its colourful characters,” mentioned Pertenava. “We dwell in a world the place digital applied sciences are remodeling actuality. I wished to emphasise the tales of individuals, particularly ladies, collaborating in these technological developments.”

Blockchain advocate Toni Lane Casserly, who tragically passed away recently, additionally options, talking concerning the idea of when nations may compete for our citizenship. Her predictions about this are to not be missed.

Made in collaboration with Steven Pape, a director who has labored with James Cameron, the movie will probably be accessible for streaming worldwide right now and 10% of the funds gathered by means of streaming will probably be donated to organizations battling COVID-19 and organizations supporting feminine entrepreneurs.





Source link


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *